jelllo-shots

Reach out and touch faith

It is incredibly easy for a student at University to forget their motivation for being there in the first place. What with all the addictive  student club nights, harrowing hangovers, and the confusing rush of new opportunities taunting your interest and inviting your attention elsewhere, in to all kinds of directions. The student life is a hard habit to shake off, and it is hard to see an end to the constant parties, and late nights with the dissilusion that you will be able to flunk life when it finally calls with a little pro plus and an enthusiastic gulp of energy drink.

This is where I was a few weeks previously, missing the bigger picture, and forgetting just how much I want to succeed in music journalism, and preferring to indulge my passion in the many delights of Urban Outfitters. Then I looked at my phone as it flashed in the shadow of my distraction, and the light bulb immediately switched back on. As I opened the email on my Blackberry, I bubbled inside with excitement. I was invited to an open lecture with the guest speaker being that of a widely popular writer who provides articles for The Guardian and has contributed to Q magazine, having written her first novel, and in the process of writing her second. I practically jumped off my chair after reading how the lecture would consist of this talented journalist explaining her passion towards music, and the path in which she walked down to get to the position she was in now, and immediately set an alarm for it.

On the day of the lecture I arose bright and early with apprehensive nerves, and carefully considered what I could wear that would impress the speaker enough to realise that I was a great choice of protege, to follow in her footsteps (mindless daydreaming, but worth a try anyway). I spent all my break reading this woman’s work, and revelling in our combined passion for music, and when I witnessed the incessant passion for music magnificently rolling off her tongue I was reminded that I am on the right path to my dream job, I was half tempted to jump up and hug this new hero of mine, after the lecture, in gratitude for the fresh inspiration to remain in the same path.

where dreams are realised (or remembered)

This lecture is not just a one off either, another relevant email has found its way to my phone ensuring me that I was aware of a lecture with the guest speaker being a widely known DJ who will be discussing the relevance of music in today’s culture, yet another burst of  academic excitement followed, and the eagerness to meet someone who employs a wide section of  my Itunes is almost too much to bare. And it is not just us aspiring music journalists blessed with all these inspiring pep talks, students are always kept up to date with the latest guest speaker to bless willing students with their lectures covering a wide variety of occupations, genres, and subjects, so make sure you read all those boring University emails, you might see something that sparks the electric current to your own dreams and goals.

The motive for this article is to remind you that although the student lifestyle may exhume an incredible fog into your vision of the future, University itself is always at hand to feed in to your passion, and to inspire you into the depths of your dreams full capacity. You CAN make your dreams come true. Never forget that.

Written by Charlotte Owen, Leeds Metropolitan University.

Leave a Reply

